Karma

My mother would fondly recall my toddler days when I would torture her by letting her read to me for what seemed like eternity. She would read my books over and over again until I fell asleep. Sometimes she would fall asleep ahead of me. What I would do was open her eyelids to wake her up. Well, I have my mom to blame for my early love affair with books. Now I got my karma. Zoe loves books the way I do and she wants me to read and read and read to her over and over again. It’s routine for her. Going to bed meant reading books. Something I started to get her in the mood to go to sleep. But I think my plan backfired. Her books don’t make her sleepy at all. What happens is quite the opposite. It’s great that she loves books but I’m starting to sound like a broken record telling the story of the Gingerbread Man, Hansel & Gretel, and Sleeping Beauty. The second a story ends and I close the book, Zoe’s already up saying “next” and then choosing another book she fancies. This goes on and on until I put an end to it by declaring that it’s time to sleep. There’s always a struggle and I always win. At least she hasn’t opened my eyelids, yet.

February 9, 2007. General.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

