Gender Bender

I never thought I’d be teaching Zoe the difference between a male and a female this early. But then, when she started claiming that she was a boy like her dad, preferring to wear her NBA jersey-romper instead of her cute backless dress, and wanting to play basketball with the boys (referring to her cousin Kuya Diego, her younger playmate in Canlubang, Daniel, her dad, and her titos) instead of playing with her tea set, I decided to go on with my lecture. She understood the difference easily, and now she knows that she’s a girl like her mom, and that her dad is a boy. I gave her a “test” (fill in the blanks) as she was enjoying her bubble bath:

Me: Mama (my mom, her lola) is a ___

Zoe: Girl!

Me: Mommy is a ___

Zoe: Girl!

Me: Ninong (my brother) is a ___

Zoe: Boy!

Me: Daddy is a ___

Zoe: Boy!

Me: Tita Nica (my sis) is a ___

Zoe: Girl!

Me: Kuya Diego is a ___

Zoe: Boy!

Me: Papa (my dad, her lolo) is a ___

Zoe: Boy!

Me: Bailey (our pet dog) is a  ___

Zoe: DOG!

Hehe, oo nga naman. The gender rule doesn’t apply to animals for now : )

June 27, 2007. General.

4 Comments

  1. ge replied:

    Ha ha! Zoe’s so smart!

  2. Tricia replied:

    Hehe, sometimes I’m amazed at how her little mind works!

  3. N!cE replied:

    hahaha! smart kid. 🙂

  4. Tricia replied:

    Naku, sometimes I get worried coz she has the makings of a pilosopo, haha

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

