A date with Zoe

Time is precious. Words of wisdom I’ve come to realize after starting a nail shop business and keeping my editing job on top of managing a household. What time I used to have lounging around in bed at 10 in the morning (yes, I’m not a morning person) is spent preparing for work earlier than usual so that I could be at the shop by mid-afternoon until closing time. Sadly, this means less time spent with Zoe, who by now can plead, beg, and bargain for us not to go to work. She panics when she sees us getting ready for work and, many times, we had to sneak out of the house while she’s busy watching Disney or playing in her room. Some days she gets lucky when we take turns going to work and one of us stays behind to spend time with her.

I took the day off from work (no files to begin with) and from the nail shop yesterday to spend some quality time with my daughter. Zoe didn’t show it much but I know she was thrilled that I was with her. Had to make some errands too but I took Zoe with me. We went to two banks together and spent an hour or two in Uniwide looking at some amazing bargains. For those who haven’t discovered this treasure trove, you’d be amazed at what you’d see. I was able to buy a country Christmas tree skirt for just Php160! Zoe was having fun looking at different items left and right, watching the battery-operated Christmas decors, and lifting the lids off the cookie jars. Yes, there were lots of ceramic jars and plates on sale that were very shabby chic. She was having so much fun that she played deaf when I told her we were leaving. Only when I told her we were going to Jollibee did her ears perk up and, obediently, she suddenly said, “ok mom, let’s go.” So off to Jollibee we went, where she ate french fries and discovered that ketchup wasn’t so bad after all.

As I called it a day and parked the car, Zoe turned to me, smiled, and told me the way only little kids can, “I had fun, mom.” I hugged her the way only mothers can and said, “I had fun, too,” as I tried to hold back my tears. It definitely was a date to remember.

October 18, 2007. Tags: , , . General.

9 Comments

  1. N!cE replied:

    this is a heartwarming post Tricia. Yun lang naman talaga ang gusto ng mga kids eh…being together with their parents.

    N!cE
    http://www.nicemorning.net

  2. Tricia replied:

    Thanks N!CE, i know yun din ang gusto nating mga mommies, to spend as much time possible with our kids. My heart melted talaga coz I never knew she appreciated how we spent the day together : )

  3. jody replied:

    Hi Tricia! Got here through nice. I hope you don’t mind if I link you up…

  4. erika replied:

    that is so sweet

  5. Tricia replied:

    Hi jody! Thanks for dropping by! Thanks for linking me up : )

  6. onyxx replied:

    it’s a bummer, but it’s a way to really appreciate and treasure moments like this. they don’t come often but when they do, they’re both bittersweet and poignant so you tend to remember them more. nice to know nag-enjoy kayo pareho 🙂

  7. Tricia replied:

    Hi Onyxx, yeah, at least I get to treasure times like this.

  8. Sheila replied:

    hi Tricia,

    this is so heart warming 🙂

  9. Tricia replied:

    Hi Sheila,

    I know…when you’re a mom the more we become super sensitive and sentimental, noh?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

