‘Tis Been a Good Year

Goodbye 2007, hello 2008. Cliche as it may sound, time indeed flies so fast. Too fast that sometimes I have to stop myself from getting caught in the whirlpool and breathe for a moment. Now for a recap on the year that was…

A few days into 2007, we had to rush Zoe to Asian Hospital due to frequent vomiting after our anniversary celebration in Baguio. Turned out we all got acute gastroenteritis from our eating binge in Baguio. It was painful for me to see the nurse attach an IV needle on Zoe’s tiny vein, but I was amazed that my little girl didn’t cry at all, and even watched as the IV needle was being inserted. Talk about being brave. It was a learning experience for me as a mother, one I hope and pray won’t happen again. I’m sure all moms feel the same way.

Around March, I forged a partnership with my cousin to start a new business. First business venture of sorts, unless you count my selling polvoron back in high school as one. It wasn’t in our plans to enter into one, although it has always been my dream to be an entrepreneur, but because I wouldn’t be going into it alone, my husband and I decided to give it a try. Unfortunately, my partnership with my cousin didn’t work out midway into the construction of the shop, after signing the contract with the mall administrator and applying for the necessary documents. It was nervewracking, to say the least, and I had to decide on whether I would make a go for it, despite knowing it would be doubly difficult, or just give up and go back to my “lazy” lifestyle. Luckily, I have a wonderful husband and a great family to back me up. And so, I finished what I started and now, The Li’l Nail Shop is up and running. My husband has been super helpful in running the shop. And I can’t be any happier. We’re going on our fifth month this January and, so far, so good. My satisfaction runs deeper than what we make at the end of the day. It’s more about the new friends I’ve made, the lives (of my staff) I’ve enriched somehow, and the priceless smiles I see on my clients’ faces, especially the kids who come in for a kiddie foot spa.

On the last quarter of 2007, not in our plans at all for the near future, hubby and I found ourselves getting our own condo unit at TRIbeca. It was definitely not something we were planning to do now that our business is just in its infancy stages, but the offer and the condo features were just too hard to resist (especially the aquapark and the giant dollhouses). For those who know me or my husband personally, you’d know we’re not really people who act on impulse. Me perhaps, especially when I want something too much, but not my husband. He’s the calculative one and I’m the one who acts first before I think (well, most of the time). I know we’ll have to tighten our belts all the more, but at least we’re building an asset. Hopefully, this is just the start of more to come.

Yes, it has been a good year for me and my family. Zoe is now 3 years old, and my husband is now getting closer and closer to his goal of getting to fly more often. There have been setbacks last year, yes, but there were countless blessings I am so thankful for and those setbacks just seem so insignificant when you’re surrounded by those you hold and love so dear. God is good and life is beautiful.

I pray that this new year will be a blessed one for all of us. May we live each day with love in our hearts and may each day be an opportunity for us to laugh more, love more, and live more.

January 1, 2008. Tags: , , , . Family.

5 Comments

  1. Joey replied:

    Hi, Tricia! Looks like 2007 has been a good year for you, overall. Hope 2008 will be even better! This is Joey from n@w.

  2. Tricia replied:

    Hi Joey! Yes, I hope 2008 will be even better for all of us! Thanks for dropping by my site. God bless!

  3. something purple replied:

    Happy new year tricia! and congrats to your business venture. just bloghopping!

    em

    http://em.wifespeaks.com
    http://somethingpurpledetour.blogspot.com

  4. baduday replied:

    Thanks for dropping by Em! Happy New Year, too!

  5. joy replied:

    hey tricia, i love this post. very positive 🙂 and naengganyo ako sa giant dollhouses ha

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

