Fresh from the Oven

Yes, it’s true. What you see above is our first batch of chocolate chip cookies fresh from our jurassic 3D mini oven. Photo was taken by Zoe, my 3-year-old daughter, who was my assistant. For those who know me, well, baking has never ever been my thing. Just the thought of all the measuring and the tons of bowls, spoons, spatulas to be washed after makes me save my baking for the next century. But then, once in a blue moon, on a whim, I attempt to bake someting. “Attempt” because I can never guarantee a success. I prefer cooking because you involve all the five senses: sound (sizzling sound when sauteeing), touch (as you rub the ground pepper in between your fingers or feel if the pasta is al dente), smell (when it smells good, it most probably tastes good), and sight (the mixture of colors, the play of ingredients). In baking, I feel like I’m trapped in a straightjacket, like I couldn’t do as much as I’d want to do. If you added too much flour, or even just mixed it the wrong way, you’re in for trouble. No trial and error, unless perhaps you’re Reggie Aspiras or Heny Sison, who, for sure, would know what to do when problems arise. I’ve actually lost all hope that I can bake anything decent.

Going back to the cookie…Well, Ghirardelli chocolate chips and cocoa powder are at 50% off right now at Shopwise Sucat, not sure about their other branches. Because I know Ghirardelli’s one of the better chocolate brands, I bought a pack of their bittersweet morsels (sale price at Php107.50). Zoe loves any dark chocolate; we all do. I promised myself that I will not let those morsels go to waste, so the next morning, Zoe and I started our baking lessons. It was fun baking with Zoe. She was helpful mixing the sugars, egg, and flour together, licking the dough in between mixes. We didn’t have butter so I substituted with Crisco. We even ran out of flour! Luckily, the neighborhood sari-sari had one.

Because I wasn’t expecting anything, I was surprised that the cookie turned out more than okay. The cookies were chewy (albeit not sweet enough), and the Ghirardelli chocolate chips were oh-so-yummy as they melted in my mouth. My daughter prefers to pop the choco chips in her mouth solo, not as a cookie. Can’t blame her, masarap kasi.

Despite my anxiety and traumatic experiences in baking, I can say I had more fun this time around. Perhaps because it was a bonding moment for me and Zoe, and perhaps because, finally, there’s hope for the baker in me after all.

May 14, 2008. Tags: , . General, Mommyhood.

3 Comments

  1. the husband replied:

    Congrats! If there’s a will, there’s a way. Good to know you and Zoe had fun. The wife told me that there’s a cooking/baking class in Santana Grove? Maybe zoe can participate in that.

  2. baduday replied:

    Thanks the husband! Yes, I’m excited that there will be a culinary school a few steps from the nail shop! I hope there’d be classes for moms and kids : )

  3. k.g. replied:

    Wow! Pwedeng pwede na magbake! πŸ™‚

    I didn’t know Ghirardelli has chocolate chips for baking. Akala ko chocolates lang…yummy! Anyway, if you want cheap but good chocolate chips, try Dough It All near BF. That’s where Jane and I buy our chocolate chips. Not as mouth watering as Ghirardelli siguro, pero its delicious na rin.

    SAMPLE naman! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

