Cold Season

Zoe and I have been bitten by the cold bug. Actually, Zoe first had the colds which went on to some coughing. I was ok till yesterday when I felt my throat get itchy, then my nose got so stuffed that I stayed up most last night just blowing my nose away! I felt like I didn’t get to sleep at all.

Zoe is feeling much better now, although the doctor gave her some meds which she doesn’t like, yucky medicine, so she claims. This morning, as if convincing us that there isn’t any need to take her meds, she declares that her cough and colds are gone. “But I’m well already, I don’t need to take my medicine,” she says matter-of-factly. I had a hard time convincing her otherwise, and it took me two hours before she gulped the yucky syrup. Can’t blame her, really, I don’t know any kid who would love a menthol-flavored cough syrup.

This evening, she surprised me by saying she will be drinking her meds. True enough, she did, without the two-hour wait, all by herself. Just like that. Like drinking a shot of tequila. Mind over matter, perhaps. I’m just so proud of her.

We still have a long way to go. Five days to be exact. I hope she’d cooperate every single time just like she did tonight. Really, if only I could take the meds for her instead.

July 8, 2008. Tags: . Zoe stories.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

